Guide

Which Launch Monitors Need a Subscription?

Updated on · By the Swinging Axe team

A launch monitor may need a subscription for simulator courses or other app features, even when its core shot data is available without one. Garmin R10 and Rapsodo MLM2PRO offer subscription-related features; the PRGR HS 130-A needs no app.

On this page (5 sections)
  1. Which launch monitors need a subscription?
  2. What does a subscription pay for?
  3. Can you use a launch monitor without paying monthly?
  4. How should you compare trial and included software?
  5. Which launch monitor fits your subscription preference?

A launch monitor subscription may be needed for simulator courses or added app features, even when basic shot data is available without one. The Garmin Approach R10 requires an active subscription for virtual rounds, and the Rapsodo MLM2PRO includes a 21 day Premium/Core trial.

Before you buy, separate the monitor's measurements from the software you want to use. A paid plan may matter if you want course play, tournaments, or third-party app integration, but it may not be needed for every practice session.

Which launch monitors need a subscription?

The Garmin Approach R10 requires an active subscription for virtual rounds and weekly tournaments. The Rapsodo MLM2PRO includes a 21 day Premium/Core trial for selected features, while the PRGR HS 130-A works without an app.

The subscription question is about the features you plan to use. A monitor can collect data while some extras require a paid plan or trial.

What does a subscription pay for?

A subscription can provide access to simulator courses, tournaments, or other app features. Check the specific plan terms because a trial, an included software period, and ongoing access are different things.

Garmin says an active subscription with the Garmin Golf app enables virtual rounds on more than 42,000 courses and weekly tournaments. The R10 also pairs with a compatible smartphone for shot metrics, dispersion charts, and swing video; these functions are described separately from the subscription-based virtual rounds.

Rapsodo includes a 21 day Premium/Core trial with the MLM2PRO. The trial includes simulated courses, third-party app integration, target range, impact vision, Rapsodo Combine, and speed training.

The product information does not specify the cost or availability of those features after the trial.

SkyTrak ST MAX includes 1 year of Core Foresight software at no additional cost. That gives you a stated first-year period, but it doesn't guarantee the price or terms for continued access afterward.

Can you use a launch monitor without paying monthly?

Yes, some launch monitors offer useful practice without a subscription. Focus on what the device measures and which app functions you need, then confirm whether a paid plan applies to those functions.

The PRGR HS 130-A is a fit if you want to avoid an app. It measures club head speed, ball speed, smash factor, and carry and total distance, and it runs on AAA batteries.

The R10's app pairing provides shot metrics, training mode, dispersion charts, and swing video. The subscription is specifically connected to virtual rounds and weekly tournaments in the product information, so check Garmin's current terms if you plan to use other app features.

The MLM2PRO's trial is temporary. Decide whether its course and training features are central to your routine before relying on them, and check what remains available when the trial ends.

For a broader overview of measurements and setup, see what the Garmin Golf app does with the R10. If you want to connect that monitor to simulator software, read how to connect the Garmin R10 to GSPro.

How should you compare trial and included software?

Compare how long access lasts, which features are covered, and what happens afterward. An included year of software is not the same as permanent access, and a trial does not tell you the later plan cost.

For each monitor, write down the feature you want first: virtual courses, range practice, swing video, or shot metrics. Then check the brand's current subscription page for the plan that includes it, the renewal terms, and whether the feature works on your phone or simulator setup.

This matters most when choosing a monitor for home golf. You may need an app, a compatible phone, and separate simulator software in addition to the hardware.

Our guide to launch monitors for iPhone and Android covers phone compatibility, while the golf launch monitor comparison chart helps compare devices and features.

Which launch monitor fits your subscription preference?

Choose based on whether you want simple measurements, app practice, or virtual course play. The device with the lowest software commitment may not offer the simulator features you want.

Pick the PRGR HS 130-A if you want a straightforward monitor without an app, Wi-Fi, or Bluetooth. It suits speed training and distance feedback, including swings without a ball.

Pick the Garmin Approach R10 if you want app-based metrics and swing video, with the option to pay for virtual rounds and tournaments. Check Garmin's current subscription terms before counting course access as part of your setup.

Pick the Rapsodo MLM2PRO if its trial features match your practice plans and you're willing to verify the post-trial options. Pick the SkyTrak ST MAX if a year of Core Foresight software is a useful starting period, then confirm the renewal terms.

For more help choosing a device by setting and budget, start with golf launch monitors: types, prices, and how to pick. Make your choice after matching the software terms to how often you'll use each feature.

Frequently asked questions

Which golf launch monitors require a subscription?

Subscription needs depend on the feature you want. Garmin requires an active subscription for R10 virtual rounds and weekly tournaments.

Rapsodo includes a 21 day Premium/Core trial for features such as simulated courses and third-party app integration.

Check current plan terms before choosing.

Can I use a launch monitor without a subscription?

Often, yes. The PRGR HS 130-A requires no app, Wi-Fi, or Bluetooth for its listed measurements.

Garmin R10 pairs with the Garmin Golf app for metrics and swing video, while its virtual rounds require an active subscription.

Confirm which app features are available without a paid plan.

Does the Rapsodo MLM2PRO include a subscription?

The MLM2PRO includes a 21 day Premium/Core trial, which gives temporary access to features such as simulated courses, third-party app integration, target range, impact vision, combine, and speed training. The product information does not state what each feature costs after the trial, so check Rapsodo's current terms.

Is a subscription needed for a golf simulator?

It depends on the launch monitor, app, and simulator software you choose. Some monitors advertise simulator access through an active plan or trial, while a device may also provide shot data without those extras.

Check compatibility, ongoing plan terms, and the features included before you buy.